Breakfast with Lisa & Josh #51 - My Favorite Place in the World

Breakfast with Lisa & Josh #51 - My Favorite Place in the World

Welcome Back to Breakfast with Lisa & Josh!

Out of all 4 year-long round the trips spanning 50 countries, Langkawi, Malaysia is my favorite place in the world. It has everything - breathtakingly beautiful beaches, world class restaurants, gorgeous waterfalls, views from the top of a mountain that you can get to from a cable car, motorbike adventures, the literal best beach on planet earth, flights to and from the island that cost $18 (from Kuala Lumpur), and a bustling just-the-right-amount-of-touristy-but-not-too-much town to bring it all together.

Not only all of that, but the entire island is duty free. What more can you ask for?

Langkawi is a small island on the northwest side of Malaysia, just a short 1 hour flight from Kuala Lumpur, or a 2 hour incredible ferry ride from the nearby town of George Town, Penang. From the first time I came here over 10 years ago, I knew immediately - this was the perfect place for me. It had everything that I wanted out of a destination - all the things above coupled with being super budget friendly and filled with other very interesting travelers who came here. Most people don’t come to Malaysia unless they’re on a longer trip. So if you only have a few weeks, it unfortunately won’t make most people’s list—but that might be why it’s so special.

Coming here felt a bit like coming home for me - I’ve been to this tiny island over 10 times, and I know just about every nook, cranny, road, and waterfall of the place. It felt all so familiar, so friendly, so overwhelmingly joyful to come back here, especially after so long away.

We spent the past few days zooming around on our motorbikes from waterfall to incredible restaurant to beautiful beach to super fun adventure. It’s just… perfect.

It felt like exactly the thing we needed after the very different ways of traveling through Yogyakarta, and the hustle and bustle of Kuala Lumpur. Exactly the beachy, beautiful, easy vibes we needed in the middle of our trip to prepare us for where we are heading next.

Today’s our last day here, and next we head someplace much more foreign. We’re flying to South Korea (hopefully, as always, you just never know these days) for an entirely different experience. Cold weather, significantly higher language barrier, and an entirely exciting new feeling.

The biggest thing for me is that I can’t be the tour guide that I’ve been for the majority of this trip. I’ve only spent a few days in Korea, and I don’t really know anything about it. I can’t predict what’s going to happen, I don’t know the language at all, how to read it, and I don’t know what to see or do.

It’s all new, and I think stepping back from that tour guide role a bit will be really, really good for all of us. It’s time to let a bit of that need for control, that predictability, go, and let South Korea surprise us. I can’t wait to experience it with all of you. It looks amazing.

If any of you out there have suggestions for stuff to do in South Korea, PLEASE email them to us, or DM us on Instagram. We have about 3 weeks there, and really want to dig in and discover amazing things and experiences and people.

I’m really going to miss Langkawi though. It’s always hard leaving here. I wonder when I’ll be back. I hope not too long. I don’t think I can stand another 4 years away.

Videos This Week

I was wrong about Bali (First Impressions Ubud)

We thought we knew what Bali was all about. We were wrong.

Flying to Bali from The World's Best Airport

The Singapore airport is just too much. Best airport in the world. What else is there to say?

See you next Sunday…ish :)

- josh (and lisa)

Oh, and if you want to learn how we afford to take all these trips after quitting our jobs last year, you’ll likely be interested in our Skillshare course on Travel Hacking and Frequent Flier Miles. It’s been really taking off lately, but we still have a few uses of this link left for those of you who want to see the class for free. It comes with a free month of Skillshare, which is more than enough to watch our class and any of the other great courses on there!

Bonus Cat Content